PhD theses

  1. Understanding losses in halide perovskite thin-films
    Gede W.P. Adhyaksa, Ph.D. Thesis, University of Amsterdam, May 22, 2018. Advisor: prof. dr. E.C. Garnett
  2. Monocrystalline halide perovskite nanostructures
    Parisa Khoram, Ph.D. Thesis, University of Amsterdam, April 25, 2018. Advisor: prof. dr. E.C. Garnett
  3. Interfaces in nanoscale photovoltaics
    Sebastian Z. Oener, Ph.D. Thesis, University of Amsterdam, December 8, 2016. Advisor: prof. dr. E.C. Garnett
  4. Quantifying limits and losses in nanostructured photovoltaics (cum laude)
    Sander A. Mann, Ph.D. Thesis, University of Amsterdam, December 6, 2016. Advisor: prof. dr. E.C. Garnett
  5. Internal and external light trapping for solar cells and modules
    Lourens van Dijk, Ph.D. Thesis, Utrecht University, May 30, 2016. Advisors: dr. M. Di Vece, prof. dr. A. Polman and prof. dr. R.E.I. Schropp
  6. Resonant nanophotonic structures for photovoltaics (cum laude)
    Jorik van de Groep, Ph.D. Thesis, University of Amsterdam, December 15, 2015. Advisor: prof. dr. A. Polman
  7. Before there was light: excited state dynamics in luminescent (nano)materials (cum laude)
    Freddy T. Rabouw, Ph.D. Thesis, Utrecht University, September 28, 2015. Advisor: prof. dr. D.A.M. Vanmaekelbergh

Master’s theses by students trained by LMPV                                                                     

  1. Spectrum-splitting concepts for parallel-stacked tandem solar cells
    Tom P.N. Veeken, University of Amsterdam & VU University Amsterdam (2017)
  2. Broadband light trapping patterns for ultrathin CIGSe and CZTS solar cells
    M. Magda Solà Garcia, University of Amsterdam & VU University Amsterdam (2017)
  3. Investigation of singlet fission in perylene bis(phenethylimde): an ultrafast process to overcome the Shockley-Queisser limit
    Maarten Mennes, University of Amsterdam (2016)
  4. Polarization and angular resolved cathodoluminescence image spectroscopy of resonant optical nanostructures
    Philip Heringlake, University of Amsterdam (2016)
  5. Grain size effects in transparent metal nanowire networks
    Teresa Ortmann, University of Amsterdam (2016)
  6. Plasmoelectronic measurements on metal nanohole arrays
    Philipp Tockhorn, University of Amsterdam (2016)
  7. Wide-angle, broadband graded metasurface for back reflection
    Verena Neder, University of Amsterdam (2016) – cum laude
  8. Indirect to direct bandgap transition in methylammonium lead halide perovskite
    Benjamin Daiber, University of Amsterdam (2016)
  9. t-butyl-Terrylene: novel singlet fission material for highly efficient solar cells
    Maria A. Mione, Utrecht University (2016)
  10. Quantum dot/Nanowire Hybrid Nanostructure for Solar Cell Applications
    Linda van der Waart, Technical University Delft (2015)
  11. Silver nanocubes as building blocks for a transparent conductive network
    Annemarie Berkhout, University of Amsterdam (2015)
  12. Dye functionalised silica coated gold nanoparticles to study localized surface plasmon – dye interactions
    Jantina Fokkema, Utrecht University (2014)
  13. Multi-energy deconvolution scanning electron microscopy
    Michiel de Goede, University of Amsterdam (2014)
  14. Trivalent europium ions as a probe for the electric and magnetic local density of states in Si nanoresonators
    Julia Attevelt, University of Amsterdam (2014)
  15. Contacting single core-shell nanowires for photovoltaics
    Cristina Sfiligoj, Technical University Delft (2013)

Bachelor’s theses by students trained by LMPV

  1. Dutch solar cell performance: The efficiency and Shockley-Queisser limits of various solar panels under Dutch weather conditions
    Ruby de Hart, Amsterdam University College (2016)
  2. Controlling the morphology of hybrid organic-inorganic lead bromide perovskite films on planar substrates
    Harolds Abolins, Amsterdam University College (2016)
  3. The core-shell nanowire as a solar cell
    John K.D. Huong, Amsterdam University College (2014)
  4. Measuring the optical responses of core@shell nanowires by using cathodoluminescence spectroscopy
    Linda van der Waart, University of Amsterdam (2013)